A trip in time…. or at least to Zons.

Last weekend we celebrated the birthday of Julia’s mother….  I guess that makes her my grandmother.  I have two actually…  One lives in America and the other here in Germany!  This way when I travel I can get hugs from Grandmothers on two different continents!  How lucky am I!!!

Anyways…  Last weekend we went to Zons to celebrate Barbara’s birthday.  Zons is a medieval town located near Düsseldorf.  It is like taking a time machine into the past.  I was told that it officially became a city in 1373.  I tried counting how many years that was on my paw… but I did not have enough toes.  Anyways, it is older than me.

The city rests upon the Rhine, and is surrounded by a big wall.  You can see markers on the wall where the Rhine flooded the city in the past, which was interesting.  I played frisbee along the Rhine with everyone…  I am getting better at bringing the frisbee back to whoever throws it, however I am still a little nervous about jumping into the air and catching it.  Maybe one day I will be brave enough to try!  Until then I like to chase after it!!!

After walking around the city it was coffee and cake time!!!  Ok… once again I did not get coffee or cake.  But I did get some treats.  Some how I feel a little jilted on that part, but that is ok.  We sat in the garden of the restaurant and in the back of the garden was a large outdoor coop full of colorful birds.  Surprisingly it did not phase me.  It was very relaxing.

We have to go back to Zons and walk around some more.  The architecture is really unique and it is interesting to see a city that is that old (again, sorry that I can not count that high on my paw).

Roo

PAWS & HEARTS FOREVER!

Sitting on the cobblestone streets in Zons, Germany.  An amazing thing for a Whippet puppy to do!

Sitting on the cobblestone streets in Zons, Germany. An amazing thing for a Whippet puppy to do!

I feel like a king looking down on all my subjects.  KING ROO.... KING OF ALL WHIPPETS!!!

I feel like a king looking down on all my subjects. KING ROO…. KING OF ALL WHIPPETS!!!

About The Life of Roo

The Life of Roo - A young Whippet living in Germany!
This entry was posted in Day trips, Just having fun! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

