Weekend on the Mosel PART IV: Ürzig to Traben-Trarbach

So where did I leave off…. Hmmmmm……

We decided not to drive straight home after visiting our family in Trier, so we found a cute little Bed & Breakfast in Ürzig along the Mosel.  A first place prize winner needs to relax a little bit, and what a better way to do so then in a quiet little wine village along the Mosel! I promise that this puppy will not get too big of head.

On the way to Ürzig we passed a city called “Kenn.”  I wonder if they named it after my dad?  We drove down the mountain to Ürizg, and I was able to see the vineyards growing along side the steep slopes of the mountains all the way down to the Mosel!  It was really beautiful.  Even a young puppy like myself can appreciate the stunning scenery.

We checked into Gästhaus Weingut Derkum.  It is a beautiful little Bed & Breakfast in the center of the village!  The owners are very nice and will make you feel will at home.  If you go there and mention that you read about their Bed & Breakfast on my page, maybe they will remember me!  Who knows… there is only one Roo right?

Our room was at the top of the building, so I could look down onto the street!  What a cute little street!  After checking in, we decided to go for a walk.  We first walked along the Mosel!!!  So beautiful.  Then we walked around the village looking at the buildings and enjoying the peaceful streets!  It is a really adorable little village!

About that time, we were all getting hungry… we got a recommendation from a local and decided to drive up the mountain to a restaurant called Wäldschenke Ürzig.  The sisters that work there are really friendly, we talked to them for a quite awhile… one would think they are twins!!!  The dinner was really nice.

Afterwards, we went back down the mountain.  We decided to try out the restaurant that is owned by the same people that own the Bed & Breakfast…. St. Marternuskeller. It is in the cellar of the building across the street from where we were sleeping!  Very convenient for a puppy who has had a long day!

We then retired for the night…. I was so sleepy.  I had such a long and exciting day!

The next morning we got up.  The sun was shining bright and we were ready to get our start!  I first went outside with Kenn to go to the bathroom and buy postcards to send to friends & family.  There was a bakery down the street that sold cards… I could not go in, but Kenn was able to.  We then met Julia down on the street outside of the Bed & Breakfast, we all went inside to have breakfast!  What a lovely setup…. full of food!  We ate then we checked out… Julia of course had to buy a couple bottles of wine first.  We had to right???  Again, still do not think Julia will let me try it, but at least I can look at the pretty bottles!

We decided to drive up the Mosel and visit a few more villages.  We got detoured and stopped by a Flohmarkt (Flea Market).  It was along the Mosel, and was very nice to walk around.

Our next stop was Traben-Trarbach…  It is actually two cities that sit opposite each other on the Mosel.  A bridge connects the two villages.  It is cute with several little shops, some cafes/restaurants, and museums.  There are also ruins that are on top of the mountain that overlook the two cities.  We did not have time to go to the top, but it was still a very nice town to visit.

I was able to run with another dog and play fetch with his ball!  It was so much fun!  I can not think of a better way to spend a beautiful summer day!  Playing alongside the Mosel… a dream come true!!!  I have to say my mom planned a pretty spectacular trip for us!

Ready for some wine in Ürzig!

Ready for some wine in Ürzig!

Ship Ahoy!  I want to set sail along the Mosel!

Ship Ahoy! I want to set sail along the Mosel!

A nice stroll through Ürzig!

A nice stroll through Ürzig!

Feeling a little retro next to a vintage car along the Mosel in Germany!  Who is ready for a ride?

Feeling a little retro next to a vintage car along the Mosel in Germany! Who is ready for a ride?

Relaxing along the Mosel in Wine Country is a Whippet's dream come true!

Relaxing along the Mosel in Wine Country is a Whippet’s dream come true!

I do not think I ever want to leave!  It is so pretty along the Mosel!

I do not think I ever want to leave! It is so pretty along the Mosel!

I think I found my flock!

I think I found my flock!

I may be 7 months old but my daddy still likes to hold me!

I may be 7 months old but my daddy still likes to hold me!

About The Life of Roo

The Life of Roo - A young Whippet living in Germany!
This entry was posted in Day trips, Mosel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

